Azerbaijan National Academy of Science

                            İNSTITUTE OF LINGUISTICS
                           named after Nasimi


Home page
About us
Deputy director
Press Service
Department of language history
Department of Azerbaijan dialectology
Department of modern Azerbaijani language
Department of Theoretical Linguistics
Department of Applied Linguistics
Department of Computer Linguistics
Department of Ancient Languages and Cultures
Department of Monitoring
Department of Sociolinguistics and Psycholinguistics
Department of turkic languages
Department of Hindian Europian Languages
Department of terminology
Library of institute of linguistics
Trade Unions
The Council of Young Scientists and Specialists
"Works of the institute of linguistics"
Press articles



Department of terminology

   Straighten out the creation of a stable terminology of the Azerbaijani language, frame the situation in this area, to guide the terminology research carried out at schools and institutions of the republic, in 1952 "Regulation" was approved by Terminology Committee and for the creation of science, technology, economy and culture in various fields terminology specific scientific principles were identified, the method of preparation of glossaries has developed. In 1969, Institute of Literature and Linguistics of USSR Academy of Sciences chief of terminology was Mehmet Shamhal Gasimov.

In 1979, in the Institute of Linguistics was created Department of Terminology and Terminology Committee's work had been entrusted to it. Until 1988, at the Institute of Linguistics, Azerbaijan Academy of Sciences USSR head of the Department of Terminology was PhD, professor M.S.Qasımov. In 1988-1992 years the department was led by Professor Mubariz Yusifov.

In 1992, Department of Terminology merged with the Department of Dictionary, and until 2000 years department was led by Professor Ismail Oruch Mammadov. Since 2000, regained its independence operating Department of terminology to this day is headed by PhD, Professor Sayali Allahverdi Sadigova. S.A.Sadıqova also held the position vice president for many years of Terminology Commission in Presidium of Azerbaijan National Academy of Sciences. She is currently a member of the Terminology Commission under the Cabinet of Ministers of Azerbaijan.

The main research directions of the Department of Terminology are linguistic issues of scientific and technical terminology, and preparation of bilingual and multilingual (explanatory) glossaries. For the implementation these tasks the training of highly qualified personnel is the main objective.



©  All rights are reserved. All references should be made to the site.
Azerbaijan National Academy of Science İnstitute of Linguistics named after Nasimi. 2012-2017.